Sunday, September 16, 2007

No marijuana inside and outside of Ramadan

I've become a little troubled by the amount of people, who are finding this blog by googling "marijuana Ramadan." Muslims from Indonesia, Iran, Saudi Arabia to the USA are making these inquires.

Clearly in Islam, all intoxicants are forbidden, which includes marijuana.

I know, it comes from "the earth" and we are allowed to use the "herbs." Nevertheless, it is impermissible in Islam and illegal in America.

Moving to the subject of qat, a stimulant leaf that is popularly chewed in Ethiopia and Yemen, some scholars in Yemen do not deem qat as impermissible. Qat, however, is illegal in America, and its use is not legitimate here. It's illegal! The one who smuggled it into America is a criminal just as the chewer is a violator of the law.

So for Ramadan, quit your marijuana and qat habits. And no drinking of a glass of red wine a day because the doctor said that it's "good for the blood."

SEE references below:

The Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) was once asked about certain drinks made from honey, corn, or barley by the process of fermenting them until they became alcoholic. The Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) succinctly replied, "Every intoxicant is Khamr, and every Khamr is haram." (Reported by Muslim.)

And `Umar (may Allah be pleased with him) declared from the pulpit of the Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) that "Khamr is that which befogs the mind." (Reported by Al-Bukhari and Muslim.)

Also, the Prophet (peace and blessings be upon him) said, "Of that which intoxicates in a large amount, a small amount is haram." (Reported by Ahmad Abu Dawud and At-Tirmidhi.) And again, "If a bucketful intoxicates, a sip of it is haram." (Reported by Ahmad, Abu Dawud and At-Tirmidhi.)

No comments:

Blog Archive